University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM)


The University of Dar es Salaam is the oldest and biggest public university in Tanzania. It was established on 1st July 1970, through parliament act no. 12 of 1970 and all the enabling legal instruments of the constituent colleges. Prior to 1970, the university college, Dar es Salaam had started on 1st July 1961 as an affiliate college of the University of London. In 1963 it became a constituent college of the university of East Africa together with Makerere University College in Uganda and Nairobi University College in Kenya. At the main Mwalimu Julius Nyerere campus located at an observatory hill on the western side of Dar es Salaam city, the University has has five colleges, four schools and five institutes in addition to two contituent colleges. The main campus offers 79 undergraduate programs, 67 masters programs and PhD relevant to various fields. By the year 2013/2014, the Univeristy had 19,986 undergraduate degree students among them 35% were females while postgraduate students were 2,435 among them 254 pursuing PhD. Members of academic staff were 1,194 among which about 51% were PhD holders and 16% were associate professors and professors.